Events Page

Schools Quiz 2016

The local round of the school quiz was held in St Ronan’s College, Francis Street on Wednesday 3rd February 2016.  The quiz is divided into competition A (11 & under) and competition B (13 & under)

All the schools eligible for entering in the common bond had been invited to enter up to 4 teams, 2 in competition A and 2 in competition B.

This year 15 teams from 7 different schools took part.  Schools taking part were:

  • Rowandale Integrated PS
  • St Anthony’s PS
  • St Patrick’s Derrynaseer
  • St Patrick’s Aghacommon
  • Tannaghmore PS
  • St Mary’s Derrymore
  • St Ronan’s College

This was the first time St Mary’s Derrymore have entered the quiz.

Competition A was won by St Anthony’s PS with a score of 40 out of 60.

School Quiz 2016 Comp A winners St Anthonys PS

Competition B was won by St Ronan’s College with a score of 52 out of 72.

School Quiz 2016 Comp b St Ronans 1

The next round will take place in the Balmoral Hotel, Belfast on Sunday 28th February at 6pm for St Anthony’s and St Ronan’s teams.


Schools Poster Competition Prize Winners 2016

(Click images for full-size)

Under 7 Category

maeve coleman winner 7 years and under  Maeve Coleman

1st Place – Maeve Coleman


Jack Grant 2nd place 7 years and under  Jack Grant

2nd Place – Jack Grant


Katie McConville 3rd place 7 years and under  Katie McConville

Joint 3rd Place – Katie McConville


Maisy McAlinden 3rd place 7 years and under Maisy McAlinden

Joint 3rd Place – Maisy McAlinden


8-10 Years Category

Mollie Byrne 1st place 8-10 years  Mollie Byrne

1st Place – Mollie Byrne


Jessica Blaney 2nd place 8-10 years  Jessica Blaney

2nd Place – Jessica Blaney


Fiona Coll 3rd place 8-10 years  Fiona Coll

3rd Place – Fiona Coll


11-13 Years of Age Category

Aine McCann 1st place 11-13 years  Aine McCann

1st Place – Aine McCann


Meabh Tiernan 2nd place 11-13 years Meabh Tiernan

2nd Place – Meabh Tiernan


Evie Scullion 3rd place 11-13 years  Evie Scullion

3rd Place – Evie Scullion


14-17 Years of Age Category

Klaudia Kamyk 1st place 14-17 years  Klaudia Kamyk

1st Place – Klaudia Kamyk


Meghan Maguire 2nd place 14-17 years  Meghan Maguire

Joint 2nd Place – Meghan Maguire


Gabriella Beattie 2nd place 14-17 years  Gabriella Beattie

Joint 2nd Place – Gabriella Beattie


James Williamson 3rd place 14-17 years  James Williamson

Joint 3rd Place – James Williamson


Nikoleta Koleva 3rd place 14-17 years

Joint 3rd Place – Nikoleta Koleva


18 Years and Above Category

Katie Henderson 1st place 18 years and over

1st Place -Katie Henderson


Rebecca McKenzie 2nd place 18 years and over  Rebecca McKenzie

2nd Place – Rebecca McKenzie


Laurine McKenna 3rd place 18 years and over  Laurine McKenna

Joint 3rd Place – Laurine McKenna


Erin Breen 3rd place 18 years and over  Erin Breen

Joint 3rd Place – Erin Breen


8-10 Years of Age Special Category

Jake Murphy 1st place 8-10 years special category

1st Place – Jake Murphy


11-13 Years of Age Special Category

Shannon Ward 1st place 11-13 years special category  Shannon Ward

1st Place – Shannon Ward


Conor Sheridan 2nd place 11-13 special category

2nd Place – Conor Sheridan


Nadia Carvalho 3rd place 11-13 years special category

Joint 3rd Place – Nadia Carvalho


Teresa Burns 3rd place 11-13 years special category  Teresa Burns

Joint 3rd Place – Teresa Burns


14-17 Years of Age Special Category

Brian Duffy 1st place 14-17 years special category  Brian Duffy

1st Place – Brian Duffy


Michael Nsiah 14-17 years special category  Michael Nsia

2nd Place – Michael Nsiah


18 Years and Above Special Category

Leigh Thompson 1st place 18 years and above special category

1st Place – Leigh Thompson


Dalton McCoy 2nd place 18 years and above special category  Dalton McCoy

2nd Place – Dalton McCoy


Natasha Herrson 3rd place 18 years and above special category  Natasha Herron

3rd Place – Natasha Herron


Group Entry Special Category

St Antthonys 1st place group entry  St Anthonys

1st Place – St Anthony’s Class


Lurgan Credit Union Sponsorship Presentation

North Lurgan Playgroup Joan Heaney 2

Pat Kelly (Chairman) presents a cheque to Joan Heaney from North Lurgan Playgroup


Valerie Robinson 25.6.14 Lurgan & Portadown Gateway club 1

Pat Kelly (Chairman) presents a cheque to Valerie Robinson from Lurgan and Portadown Gateway Club


St Mary's Aghagallon -team captain Jamie Lamont 2

Pat Kelly (Chairman) presents a cheque to St Mary’s Aghagallon team captain Jamie Lamont


FADD Fiona Bawn-Thompson & Clodagh Bawn 1

Pat Kelly (Chairman) presents a cheque to FADD’s Fiona-Bawn Thompson and Clodagh Bawn



Lurgan Credit Union were pleased to receive a visit from Glenavon Football Club who proudly showed off the Irish Cup which they recently won.

Glenavon Cup


We are delighted to announce that, starting this week, The Irish League of Credit Unions is partnering with the Irish News in their School’s competition, offering young people from all over Ireland a fabulous opportunity to win one of 5 School Trips to Croke Park for their class.

The trip includes:

– A tour of Croke Park

– The opportunity to meet a county player

– Lunch in Croke Park hotel

– Coach transfers to & from school

Pupils, parents or teachers can collect the tokens daily in the Irish News, over the next 7 weeks, with 5 lucky schools winning a chance to visit Croke Park on 23 & 24th June.

Good Luck!



St Anthony’s Bowling Club – Annual Tournament

Lurgan Credit Union sponsored the Annual Bowling Tournament which was held on Friday 21st February in St Anthony’s Hall Craigavon.

This popular event attracted competitors of a very high calibre from across the province and further afield.

Gerry McCabe from Cooley Bowls Club, Co Louth was the overall winner receiving the “Bob McConkey Memorial Trophy & Title St. Anthony’s Open Singles Champion for 2014”.

He will now go ahead to the Champion of Champions competition later this year.

Bowling Tournament Winner GMcCabe

The finalists who took part in the Annual Bowling Tournament which was held on Friday 21st February 2014 in St Anthonys Hall, Craigavon.

If anyone is interested in trying out this sport, please contact the club secretary – Mrs C Breen on (028) 38360575.



Schools Quiz

The annual Schools Quiz took place on Monday 3rd February. As ever it was a closely fought competition and we had to take it to the tie breaker questions to separate first and second place in the junior section. Our winners this year were St Teresa’s Primary School & St Paul’s Junior High School. Well done to all who took part and we would like to say a big thank you to the care-taker of St Paul’s and to all the teachers & parents who support this event every year. We look forward to the next round of the competition and wish everyone the best of luck.

The winning team from St Teresa’s Primary School:

St Teresas (Small)

The winning team from St Paul’s Junior High School:

St Pauls (Small)



Janice Bunting - Mount Zion 2 - 23.11.13

Janice Bunting from Mount Zion receives sponsorship money from Pat Kelly, Chairman

Dwyer O'Connor - St Peters Athletic Club1 23.11.13

Dwyer O’Connor from St Peters Athletic Club receives sponsorship money from Pat Kelly, Chairman

IIP Photo Medium

Fiona Clarke accepting the Investors in People award for Lurgan Credit Union


Craigavon Cardiac Care Association receives donation from Pat Kelly, Chairman & Lurgan Credit Union staff


AGM 2015 Presentations

Deirdre Breen

Pat Kelly and Deirdre Breen of Southern Area Hospice Services


Ian Power

Pat Kelly and Ian Power of The Salvation Army


Paddy McAnallen

Pat Kelly and Paddy McAnallen of St Vincent De Paul